So, someone said I should have pics of the different “generations of The Land Yacht through the years. After all, I’ve been doing this for nearly thirteen years now! So, without further ado…

Generation one was the van given to me by possibly the best friend I’ve ever known, a man I respect & miss more than words can say. Smitty, we miss you, man! So, this was a 1995 Dodge Ram van, one of two that Yellow Cab had commissioned with full-sized wheelchair lifts in the back. Started with a recycled computer tower & an old-style CRT monitor strapped to the dashboard with about a million bungee cables.

Inside
Outside
Wheelchair Lift

I wanna kick myself for not having any pictures of the second generation. After having to leave the business for a little while to recover from back surgery, I had to start over on the ground floor at Yellow Cab, and bought a used 1999 Dodge Caravan (goober-mobile). Here’s a stock photo from Yellow Cab Galveston to give you an idea. After Gen-1, it was a definite let-down, but a step that had to be taken to get back in the game. A year and a half later, though…

Generation 3, with the help of Yellow Cab, I purchased a 2005 Dodge Sprinter. We went through a few builds on this thing before we found one that worked, I couldn’t have done it without a good friend by the name of John O in Dallas. He invited me (and the sprinter) up to Dallas, where we spent two weeks gutting the inside of the van & building The Land Yacht #3 (while I slept on his couch at night).

Outside
Inside

Generation 4, the current generation, is a 2010 Ford E-350 Passenger Van. It took, off & on, over a month of hard work to get it together. I really missed John O’s help on this project, but wasn’t going to ask him to drive down & spend 2 weeks on MY couch…he’s gotta brand-new baby! Although, in retrospect, he probably would have gotten more sleep here than at home with that new kid.



